Skip to main navigation Skip to main content


Welcome to Breathitt County

Breathitt County, located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains in the Eastern Coal Field region, was created on April 1, 1839 by an act of the Legislature and named in honor of Gov. John Breathitt (1832-34). The eighty-ninth county in order of creation, Breathitt County covers an area of 494 square miles and is bordered by Lee, Wolfe, Magoffin, Knott, Perry, and Owsley Counties.

The county seat is located at Jackson near the geographic center of the county on the North Fork of the Kentucky River. Other major waterways include the Middle Fork of the Kentucky River, Quicksand, Troublesome, Lost, and Frozen Creeks.

Breathitt County is today an important part of the Eastern Kentucky economy with timber and coal as the primary resources transported across a network of roadways including Highways 15, 30, and 1110 to all parts of the nation. Breathitt County is home to three colleges, five high schools and numerous grade schools and other educational facilities.

City of Jackson

Named after Andrew Jackson and positioned on the banks of the North Fork of the Kentucky River, Jackson is a town of beauty, charm, and history. Jackson is located in the central hills of eastern Kentucky and operates as the county seat and the heart of Breathitt County’s economic community. Jackson is a place where people know one another by name, and friendliness is a way of life.

The city of Jackson is unique in that the county school system, city independent school, and community college, are all located within the city limits. Efforts are underway to develop and emphasize downtown Jackson as an "educational village."

Take the time to stop in Jackson to visit the War Memorial, the Breathitt County Museum, the renovated Hotel Jefferson, and other historical sites.